Audit committee

The role of the Audit committee is to:

  • Support the accountable officer and Agency Chief Executive Richard Dennis by overseeing and reviewing the risk, control and governance processes established and the associated assurance processes through constructive challenge
  • Test the way in which the assurances are developed and the management priorities and approaches behind those assurances, in order to guarantee that the assurances are reliable and functioning
  • Assist the accountable officer in reviewing the sources of assurance annually

The committee will meet at least four times per year with one meeting being timed in advance of annual accounts being signed to hear any representations by Grant Thornton. The committee may invite other individuals to attend for specific agenda issues and may also hold closed meetings involving only committee members when required.

The Chair or the Chief Executive may convene further meetings to discuss particular issues on which they require the committee's advice. Reports and minutes will be passed to The Advisory Board. 

Further information can be found in the Audit committee terms of reference.




Laura murphy Non-executive board member


Ian Waugh Independent external committee member
Richard Maconachie Independent external committee member
Christine Sinclair Independent external committee member
Simon Gill Independent external committee member

In Attendance

Richard Dennis Chief Executive
John Cook Executive Director - Case Operations
Amanda Dowse Head of Finance
Stuart Riddell Business Support Manager
Steven Taylor Head of Digital
Stephanie Harold Audit Scotland - auditors
Gary Gibb Scottish Government internal audit
Jim Montgomery Scottish Government internal audit
Fiona Henry Secretary


Agenda & minutes

 7 February 2023 Agenda  

 8 November 2022

Agenda Minutes

 23 August 2022


 10 May 2022


 8 February 2022