The Advisory Board

The Advisory Board assists and advises the Chief Executive on how Ministers' policies can most effectively be delivered.

The role of the Advisory Board is to:

  • Set the strategic direction of the Agency within the policy and business parameters decided by Ministers
  • Ensure that appropriate corporate and business plans are in place for the delivery of the Agency's services and that proper standards of corporate governance are maintained
  • Review management information relating to the measurement of the Agency's performance against its targets
  • Advise the Chief Executive on matters affecting the effective and efficient discharge of the Agency's responsibilities

Meetings are held on a regular basis. Statistics on the Agency's performance against targets, spend against budgets, and reports on staffing issues will be tabled at these meetings.

In addition, the Advisory Board will receive reports from the finance, audit, IT and health & safety committees and ad-hoc papers on matters of special interest.

The Advisory Board will advise the chief executive on business and corporate plans annually and on the Annual Report and Accounts in advance of them being submitted to Ministers. The minutes will be published following approval.

Read the Advisory Board's Terms of Reference.


The members of The Advisory Board are:

Richard Dennis

Chief Executive (Chair)

John Cook

Executive Director

Mike Norris

​Non-executive Director

Laura Murphy

Non-executive Director

Christine Sinclair

​Non-executive Director

Almira Delibegovic-Broome

​Non-executive Director

Simon Gill

Non-executive Director



In attendance

Amanda Dowse

Head of Finance

Stuart Riddell

Business Support Manager

Brian Kennedy

AiB Programme Manager

The Advisory Board may invite other individuals to attend for specific issues.

Agenda & Minutes


14 February 2023



15 November 2022

Agenda Minutes

30 August 2022


24 May 2022


15 February 2022



Minutes and agendas from previous meetings are avaliable on request from AiB Chief Executive team.